Please Hollywood, Stop Making Movies Like Daddy Daycare. I Am Quite Capable Of Caring For My Children Without Having To Clean Poop From The Ceiling As The Surrounding Madness Ensues Around Hapless “Daddy” Because He’s A Man And Only Knows About Football And Strippers And Beer.

1 07 2008

Being a stay-at-home dad to a 2-year-old and a 4-month-old can be difficult.  I mean, difficult in a way that you have never experienced before.  It’s also intertwined with all of these emotions that you have never felt before.  Any parent that has gone through, or is going through, this must understand what I am saying.  You get caught up in all of the little annoying things, sometimes, and it blinds you from the really good things.  Your sense of mortality increases.  Your own childhood issues resurface.  You just identify yourself differently. People always talk about things like lack of sleep and not being able to go out, but it is so far deeper than those things.  All of the cliches in the world are just useless.  Yet, it seems like you hear these tired cliches the most – especially when you are expecting.  God, it’s painful sometimes.  The Mr. Mom-Michael Keaton thing needs to die.  It is not only tired, but it is such an oversimplification of what it is to be a dad that stays home with his children.  It’s not just oatmeal-in-the-vcr type of shenanigans.  It is time to get past these stereotypes.  I am perfectly capable of taking care of my children, as is my wife.  It is that simple.  Ok, gotta go get oatmeal out of my son’s hair.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 07 2008
Sandy

Let he who casts the first oatmeal take the oatmeal out of his own kid’s hair. You are a great dad. Sleep and going out are overrated.

3 07 2008
Lisa

Good for you! You are right that dads can do just as well taking care of the kiddos as moms! But to be fair…Mr. Mom is a really good movie. 🙂

3 07 2008
umbrelladad

Yes, but is it as good as Dream Team??

6 07 2008
Connie

I totally agree with you and I’m a woman! I hate those movies! I’m not sure why Hollywood thinks they have to go over the top with everything to make it entertaining. I’d like to believe that most people are like me and find it distasteful. But hey, they make millions on it so maybe we’re the minority here?

Congrats on the full-time dad role. My husband is a fire fighter and I worked full-time when my kids were young so he was their care giver many days alone and I was a single mother many nights and weekends alone. Our kids thrived in an environment where both parents were connected and hands on.

Connie

Leave a Reply

